Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Haug to leave Mercedes post 13 Dec 2012

Norbert Haug (GER) Mercedes Sporting Director.
Formula One World Championship, Rd10, German Grand Prix, Practice, Hockenheim, Germany, Friday, 20 July 2012 Norbert Haug (GER) Mercedes Sporting Director celebrates on the podium.
Formula One World Championship, Rd3, Chinese Grand Prix, Shanghai, China, Sunday, 15 April 2012 Mercedes motorsport director Norbert Haug is delighted with the historic victory

Norbert Haug will leave his position as head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport at the end of 2012, it has been announced. After spending more than 22 years in the role his contract will come to an end by mutual agreement with Mercedes’ board of management.

Haug took charge of Mercedes’ motorsport division in October 1990 and later led the German car manufacturer’s successful comeback into Formula One racing. During his tenure, Mercedes and its partners won six Formula One world championship titles and took 87 Formula One victories .

"I would like to thank the best car company in the world for more than 22 years, which never had a single moment without passion for me,” said Haug. “I particularly wish to thank the board for the trust and freedom they have always given me with all my activities. Since 1991, we had tremendous achievements and wins, for which I want to thank all of my colleagues.

“Unfortunately, with one victory in 2012 since founding our own Formula One works team in 2010, we couldn't fulfil our own expectations. However, we have taken the right steps to be successful in the future. Our team and our drivers will do everything to achieve these goals."

Dr Dieter Zetsche, head of Mercedes-Benz Cars and CEO of Daimler AG, added: "Norbert Haug was the face of the Mercedes-Benz Motorsport programme for more than 20 years. For me, he put his stamp on a whole era and, as a highlight, he was responsible for the successful comeback of the Silver Arrows to Formula One. In the name of the Board of Management and the whole motorsport family, I would like to thank Norbert for his extraordinary commitment to the three-pointed star."

Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg will spearhead the Mercedes team’s championship challenge in 2013. McLaren and Force India will also continue to use Mercedes engines next season.

For tickets and travel to 2013 FORMULA 1 races, click here.
For FORMULA 1 and F1 team merchandise, click here.