Max Verstappen has earned the praise of his rivals, with F1’s newest world champion topping our exclusive poll of his peers…

    In the fourth running of our Drivers’ Driver of the Year poll, we asked this year’s full-time drivers to assess their rivals’ performance and create their personal top 10 ranking.

    REVEALED: F1’s team bosses choose their Top 10 drivers of 2021

    The rules allow drivers to vote for themselves – though as in previous years several didn’t, and not all put their own name top of the pile – and they did so in the knowledge that their ranking would remain anonymous.

    Scores were based on the current F1 points system, with the top driver on each list earning 25 points down to one point for the driver in 10th. The lists were then combined to create an overall top 10.


    1 Max Verstappen
    2 Lewis Hamilton
    3 Lando Norris
    4 Carlos Sainz
    5 Charles Leclerc
    6 Fernando Alonso
    7 Pierre Gasly
    8 George Russell
    9 Esteban Ocon
    10 Mick Schumacher

    As was the case in our team boss ranking, Verstappen beat championship rival Lewis Hamilton to the top spot, with Lando Norris completing the podium.

    The drivers voted Carlos Sainz fourth best, one place ahead of his Ferrari team mate Charles Leclerc, with the returning Fernando Alonso – who took an impressive podium in Qatar – slotting into sixth.

    PALMER: My star performers and stand-out moments from the 2021 season

    Pierre Gasly, who scored more than 100 points for the first time in his career and accounted for more than 75% of AlphaTauri’s year-long haul, was seventh, ahead of George Russell – who scored points four times in the Williams.

    Hungarian Grand Prix race winner Esteban Ocon was ninth – one place higher than in our team boss rankings – with rookie Mick Schumacher completing the top 10, despite not scoring in his backmarker Haas.

    The drivers who took part in the vote (in alphabetical order) were: Fernando Alonso, Pierre Gasly, Nicholas Latifi, Charles Leclerc, Nikita Mazepin, Lando Norris, Esteban Ocon, Daniel Ricciardo, George Russell, Carlos Sainz, Mick Schumacher, Lance Stroll, Yuki Tsunoda, Sebastian Vettel