For new fans of Formula 1, qualifying for the Belgian Grand Prix might have been a bit of a head-scratcher, as they witnessed Max Verstappen blow the opposition away with the P1 time – only to be rewarded with 15th on the grid.

    It’s all to do with grid penalties, with Verstappen joining five other drivers – Charles Leclerc, Esteban Ocon, Lando Norris, Zhou Guanyu and Mick Schumacher, in that order – at the back of the grid after they all changed a raft of components on their power units and gearboxes.

    READ MORE: Verstappen fastest in qualifying but Sainz set to start on pole after Belgian GP grid penalties

    Valtteri Bottas will start ahead in P14, meanwhile, given that he has received a 20-place grid drop, rather than a back-of-the-grid start.

    Need some more explaining? Let F1 Correspondent Lawrence Barretto and F1 TV presenter Laura Winter be your guides by hitting play on the video above.