EXPLAINED: Why did Fernando Alonso originally get a penalty in Jeddah?
Fernando Alonso may have celebrated his 100th rostrum appearance in F1 at the 2023 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix. But the joy looked set to be short-lived, after the stewards handed him a 10-second penalty after the race that dropped him to P4 – only for the decision to reversed hours later. But why was the Spaniard penalised in the first place? F1 TV presenter Alex Brundle explains all…
A five-second penalty had been dished out to Alonso for being out of position at the start of the race at the Jeddah Corniche Circuit, the Spaniard nonetheless enjoying a stunning launch from second on the grid to pass pole-sitter and eventual race winner Sergio Perez into Turn 1.
But it was while serving that five-second penalty in the pits – under a Safety Car brought out to clear up the Aston Martin of team mate Lance Stroll – that the trouble really started for Alonso.
Join Alex Brundle in the video up top as he explains what exactly Aston Martin were originally judged to have done wrong while serving the penalty.