A total of six drivers go into Monza qualifying carrying grid penalties, with Renault’s Nico Hulkenberg and Jolyon Palmer the latest to join the list after taking on new power unit elements on their cars in Italy.

    Adding to the penalties confirmed on Friday, Hulkenberg will drop 10 places thanks to a new MGU-H, while Palmer takes a 15-place hit due to the same change plus a new turbocharger.

    At Red Bull, meanwhile, Daniel Ricciardo’s previous 20-place penalty was increased to 25 places on Saturday after an unscheduled gearbox change. And team mate Max Verstappen will now lose 20 instead of 15 places after a new turbocharger on his Renault power unit.

    The 35-place penalty for McLaren’s Fernando Alonso and the 10-place drop for Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz remain unchanged.