EXPLAINED: Which drivers have grid penalties for the 2022 Belgian Grand Prix


For new fans of Formula 1, qualifying for the Belgian Grand Prix might have been a bit of a head-scratcher, as they witnessed Max Verstappen blow the opposition away with the P1 time – only to be rewarded with 15th on the grid.

It’s all to do with grid penalties, with Verstappen joining five other drivers – Charles Leclerc, Esteban Ocon, Lando Norris, Zhou Guanyu and Mick Schumacher, in that order – at the back of the grid after they all changed a raft of components on their power units and gearboxes.

READ MORE: Verstappen fastest in qualifying but Sainz set to start on pole after Belgian GP grid penalties

Valtteri Bottas will start ahead in P14, meanwhile, given that he has received a 20-place grid drop, rather than a back-of-the-grid start.

Need some more explaining? Let F1 Correspondent Lawrence Barretto and F1 TV presenter Laura Winter be your guides by hitting play on the video above.


Coming Up

Coming Up


Bottas hopeful Kick Sauber bring updates ‘sooner rather than later’ after finishing outside the points again at Silverstone