Latest News / Feature

In numbers - the Brazilian Grand Prix

08 Nov 2016

Did you know that only two countries have produced more F1 winners than Brazil? Or that in its original form the Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace was almost 8 kilometres long? Ahead of this year’s Sao Paulo round, we present some fascinating facts and figures...



Number of Brazilian drivers to have won a Grand Prix - Carlos Pace, Emerson Fittipaldi, Nelson Piquet, Ayrton Senna, Rubens Barrichello and Felipe Massa.



The total number of F1 wins accumulated by those 6 drivers - a count only bettered by the United Kingdom (256 wins) and Germany (168).


Fastest average speed - in km/h - recorded in a Brazilian Grand Prix - by Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen in 2007.


All five of the world champions on the current grid have clinched a title in Brazil.


From 33 races at Interlagos, the polesitter has triumphed just 12 times, a ratio of 36 percent - one of the lowest of any circuit on the current calendar.


Ferrari and McLaren are locked on eight wins apiece at Interlagos - the most recorded by any team.


Number of drivers to have scored back-to-back wins in the Brazilian Grand Prix, the last being Nico Rosberg in 2014-2015.


Number of fastest laps set in Brazil by Lewis Hamilton. No other current driver has managed more than 2 (Kimi Raikkonen) and only Michael Schumacher’s tally is greater (5).


Percentage of the Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace’s lap distance spent at full throttle in a modern Formula One car.


Fastest straight-line speed - in km/h - clocked through the speed trap during last year’s Interlagos race - by Toro Rosso’s Max Verstappen.


In seconds, the difference in 2015 qualifying lap times in Brazil between polesitter Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes team mate Nico Rosberg.


Kilos of fuel per lap that Renault expect to consume in Brazil this year.


The number of points Nico Rosberg must score at Interlagos on Sunday in order to become world champion regardless of where Lewis Hamilton finishes.


Lap distance - in metres - of the Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace’s original circuit configuration, as used for the Brazilian Grand Prix from 1973 to 1977.