Latest News / Feature

In numbers - the Bahrain Grand Prix

31 Mar 2016

Did you know that eight different drivers have started from pole in Bahrain since 2004, or that three of the current grid have started every single race in Sakhir? We present all the need-to-know numbers ahead of this weekend's 2016 Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix...


This year’s race will be the third to be held under floodlights. The first nine were all staged in natural daylight. Perhaps unsurprisingly, all 11 previous races in Bahrain have been held in dry weather conditions.



The average deceleration (in G-force) experienced at Sakhir, according to the brake experts at Brembo. The biggest stop comes at Turn 1, which is approached at 330km/h and sees the drivers pull 5.2g. For this corner alone they spend 1.76s on the brakes (producing 2,200Kw of braking force), which may not sound a lot but is actually one of the longest stops of the year.



The lap record at Sakhir, set by McLaren’s Pedro de la Rosa in the 2005 race. It was the only fastest lap of the Spaniard’s 104-race career.  


The number of Bahrain Grands Prix that Jenson Button, Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa have missed since the race’s inception in 2004. Alonso is set to miss his first race at Sakhir this year on medical grounds however, with McLaren reserve Stoffel Vandoorne to replace him. 



The number of different drivers to have taken pole position in Bahrain. Nico Rosberg (who made his F1 debut in Bahrain in 2006), Sebastian Vettel and Michael Schumacher are the only drivers to have taken more than one pole (they all have two to their name).



The number of laps comprising a race distance in Bahrain. Only once in history has the race been run with a lower number of laps – in 2010, when the longer 6.2-kilometre 'endurance' circuit layout was used and the Grand Prix was run to 49 laps.


Years since the last of Fernando Alonso’s record three wins in Bahrain. Felipe Massa, Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton all have two wins under their belts, with the latter aiming for a hat-trick this year. Jenson Button is the only other current driver to have won in Sakhir, his victory coming in his title-winning season of 2009.



The speed (in km/h) that Sebastian Vettel clocked through the speed trap in last year’s race. That was 3.4km/h faster than the fastest driver (Felipe Massa) managed in 2014.  



The number of times Ferrari have won in Bahrain, which is twice more than Red Bull, Renault or Mercedes. The Scuderia have 10 Sakhir podiums in total, the last coming last year through Kimi Raikkonen who broke a 27-race podium drought when he finished second. Nobody has more Bahrain podiums to their name than the Iceman’s seven.



The amount of time (in seconds) that Lewis Hamilton beat Nico Rosberg by in 2014 – the smallest winning margin in Bahrain Grand Prix history.


The number of laps led by Sebastian Vettel in Bahrain – the most by any driver. Lewis Hamilton and Felipe Massa are the only other drivers to register over 100 laps in the lead.



The margin (in seconds) by which Robert Kubica beat Felipe Massa in 2008 to score the only pole position of his career. It remains the smallest pole position margin in Bahrain Grand Prix history.



The percentage of times that the race has been won from pole position in Bahrain. No one has won the race from lower than fourth on the grid – that was Jenson Button in 2009.