Latest News / Feature

In numbers - the Chinese Grand Prix

13 Apr 2016

Did you know that only two men have triumphed more than once at Shanghai? Or that F1 reached record speeds at the circuit last year? We present all the need-to-know numbers ahead of this weekend's 2016 Formula 1 Pirelli Chinese Grand Prix...


This year's race will be the 13th to be held on the Shanghai International Circuit. In that time, only two men have triumphed more than once: Fernando Alonso (in 2005 and ‘13) and Lewis Hamilton (2008, '11, '14 and '15). 



The lowest position any driver has started and gone on to win in China. Michael Schumacher was the man responsible, triumphing from the third row back in 2006 (he beat polesitter Fernando Alonso by 3.1 seconds).



The smallest winning margin in history in China - recorded last year as Hamilton held off team mate Nico Rosberg to seal victory


The lap record at Shanghai, set by Michael Schumacher in the inaugural race in 2004. The Scuderia have recorded two fastest laps in China, to go with their record four victories at the venue. 



The number of times, as a percentage, that the polesitter has gone on to triumph in China - proof that starting from the front isn't everything in Shanghai.



The closest ever pole margin in Shanghai, which came last year courtesy of Mercedes pair Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg. It was the Briton who prevailed to book a record fifth pole at the circuit.



The speed, in km/h, that Pastor Maldonado clocked in the speed trap during the race last year. It is the fastest speed F1 has ever reached in China, breaking the previous mark of 342.6 km/h, set back in 2005 by Michael Schumacher.


The distance, in metres, between pole and the apex for Turn 1 - one of the longest such runs of the season.



Consecutive poles for Mercedes in China - and also the most of any constructor at the circuit. After Nico Rosberg's in 2012 - his first in F1 and also the first for the revived Mercedes team - they have taken pole every season, with Lewis Hamilton delivering three successive poles from 2013 to '15. Red Bull have three poles to their name, and by a weird coincidence they also came consecutively between 2009 and '11.



The number of laps between lights out and the chequered flag in China. Only once in history has the race been run to a shorter length - in 2014, when the chequered flag was shown one lap early in error, leading to the result being declared after 54 laps.



Different visitors to the podium in China. Four men - Rubens Barrichello, Ralf Schumacher, Giancarlo Fisichella and Michael Schumacher - have only one visit to their name. Lewis Hamilton tops the list with seven different podiums finishes (from nine entries).


The distance, in kilometres, of the Shanghai back straight - the longest straight on the F1 calendar.



The peak lateral g-forces experienced by drivers at Shanghai, at the very fast and long left hander of Turn 7.



Years since Kimi Raikkonen's first - and to date only - win in China. The Finn has come close on several occasions however, and has picked up five podiums in total - a tally only surpassed by Hamilton.



Races led by Jenson Button in China - which was the outright record until Hamilton matched it in 2015. Fernando Alonso, Button's McLaren team mate, is next up with five. Incidentally, Alonso and Button have finished every Grand Prix in China since its inception in 2005. Will that run continue in 2016?