Latest News / Feature

In numbers - the British Grand Prix

07 Jul 2016

Did you know that Silverstone saw the third quickest average pole speed in 2015? Or that Lewis Hamilton could become just the second driver in history to score three successive wins on British soil? Ahead of this year’s race, we present some fascinating facts and figures...


This year sees Silverstone host a round of the world championship for the 50th time. The Northamptonshire venue was, of course, home to the very first race in 1950.


The average speed, in km/h, that Lewis Hamilton clocked on his way to pole position last season. That equates to 142.851 mph. Only Belgium and Italy saw faster average pole speeds in 2015.


In terms of drivers, Jim Clark leads the way with 365 laps led – 125 more than Niki Lauda.



This year will see Jenson Button compete in his 17th British Grand Prix at Silverstone. His best result remains fourth, which he achieved in 2004, 2010 and 2014.



Of the sixteen races since 2000, seven have featured one or more safety-car deployment. Last year’s Silverstone race featured one safety car and one virtual safety car.



Lewis Hamilton is going in search of a fourth British Grand Prix win this year – the same number as Nigel Mansell. Only Alain Prost and Jim Clark (both on five) have won the race more times, and Clark is the only driver to have scored three or more wins in a row in Britain.


Fernando Alonso has the most British Grand Prix podium finishes of any driver on the grid. On current form it might seem unlikely that the McLaren star will finish on the rostrum this weekend, but if he does he’ll equal Michael Schumacher and Alain Prost’s joint record of seven.



The number of British Grands Prix won by Ferrari – a record. Since the formation of the world championship in 1950 the Scuderia - who won their first ever race at Silverstone in 1951 - have only failed to win the British Grand Prix in one decade - the 1980s.



Kimi Raikkonen is set to start his 100th race for Ferrari this weekend. Only Michael Schumacher (179), Felipe Massa (139) and Rubens Barrichello (102) have started more for the Prancing Horse.



The number of British Grands Prix, out of 66, won by British drivers.



The lap record at Silverstone, set by Red Bull’s Mark Webber in 2013


Lewis Hamilton’s winning margin over Mercedes team mate Nico Rosberg in last year’s race



The percentage of lap time that drivers spend on full throttle at Silverstone.


2h 59m 47s

The longest race in Silverstone history was the 1956 event which was won by Juan Manuel Fangio. Don’t expect Sunday’s race to last as long…



Seven of the 11 Formula One teams are based in Britain (and two that aren’t - Haas and Toro Rosso - have satellite offices there), all within a 90-kilometre radius of Silverstone. Force India - whose factory is in Silverstone - are based the closest to the circuit, McLaren - in Woking - are the furthest away.