Latest News / Feature

In numbers - the Malaysian Grand Prix

27 Sep 2016

Did you know that four men have appeared on the Sepang podium five times? Or that one current driver took his maiden F1 victory at the circuit - winning by over half a minute? Ahead of this year’s Kuala Lumpur round, we present some fascinating facts and figures...



Different winners from the 17 Grands Prix held so far at Sepang. Ferrari's Eddie Irvine won the inaugural race in 1999, while Sebastian Vettel triumphed last year - taking him to a record four wins in Malaysia.


The lowest winning grid position in Malaysia - a record set in 2012 by Ferrari's Fernando Alonso.


Laps led at Sepang by Sebastian Vettel, which is the all-time record. The German passed Fernando Alonso's benchmark of 169 en route to victory last year.


The average speed, in km/h, of Michael Schumacher's pole lap in 2004. The German started from the first grid spot on five occasions in Malaysia, a record no other driver has yet matched - Lewis Hamilton is closest, on three.


Race start by a Malaysian driver on home soil. Alex Yoong competed here for Minardi in 2002, qualifying 22nd and climbing as high as 14th before retiring with gearbox issues. Fairuz Fauzy is the only other Malaysian to have taken part in F1 - he participated in five FP1 sessions (including at Sepang) with Lotus in 2010.


The margin of victory, in seconds, enjoyed by Kimi Raikkonen in 2003 - the Finn's first F1 win. Rubens Barrichello, racing for Ferrari, was the only man to finish within 60s of Raikkonen, who lapped everyone up to fourth.


Sergio Perez, meanwhile, missed out on what would have been a first F1 triumph by this margin - in seconds - in a wild, rain-hit race in 2012, but even so picked up his first Grand Prix podium with second place. Fernando Alonso was the victor.


Or 'Multi 21' to be precise - a Red Bull team radio phrase now immortalised in F1 lore following the 2013 Malaysian Grand Prix, when Sebastian Vettel ignored team orders and passed Mark Webber to claim victory for Red Bull. The Australian was less than impressed, leading to a very frosty post-race 'celebration'. You can read more about that here



Torrential rain in 2009 meant the Grand Prix was stopped early and half points were awarded for only the fifth time in F1 history. Brawn's Jenson Button triumphed, but therefore only received five points - while Nico Rosberg picked up 0.5 points for running eighth when the race was called at the end of lap 31.

17 - 5 - 27

Max Verstappen became F1's youngest points scorer in Malaysia last year when he finished seventh for Toro Rosso. He was 17 years, 5 months and 27 days old - more than two years younger than previous record holder Daniil Kvyat.



Record number of podiums in Malaysia, shared by four drivers: Michael Schumacher, Fernando Alonso, Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton. 


No manufacturer has triumphed at Sepang more times than Ferrari - with their latest win coming in 2015 via Sebastian Vettel, in what was his first victory for the team. Red Bull are next up with three wins.


Drivers have set at least one fastest lap in Malaysia. Mika Hakkinen, Michael Schumacher, Juan Pablo Montoya, Mark Webber, Kimi Raikkonen and Lewis Hamilton are all tied at the top with two. Jenson Button, meanwhile, set the fastest lap for the first time in his career at Sepang in 2009.


The top speed, in km/h,  through the speed trap last year, set by Williams' Valtteri Bottas.