Latest News / Headline

FIA entry list reveals driver numbers, confirms Chilton

10 Jan 2014

Formula One racing’s governing body, the FIA, has published the entry list for the 2014 FIA Formula One World Championship, revealing the race number each driver has chosen to use for the remainder of his F1 career under revised regulations for the new season.

The list also includes Max Chilton as Marussia's second driver, leaving Caterham as the only team to finalise their 2014 line-up.

Each driver was invited by the FIA to state his preferred race number, with the driver who finished higher in the 2013 standings being favoured if the same number was requested more than once.

Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel chose number 5, but as reigning world champion has taken up his option to run with number 1 this season. Meanwhile, number 13 - not normally used due to its association with poor luck - has been chosen by Lotus's Pastor Maldonado.

The FIA entry list in full:

1* Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull

3 Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull

44 Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

6 Nico Rosberg, Mercedes

14 Fernando Alonso, Ferrari

7 Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari

8 Romain Grosjean, Lotus

13 Pastor Maldonado, Lotus

22 Jenson Button, McLaren

20 Kevin Magnussen, McLaren

27 Nico Hulkenberg, Force India

11 Sergio Perez, Force India

99 Adrian Sutil, Sauber

21 Esteban Gutierrez, Sauber

25 Jean-Eric Vergne, Toro Rosso

26 Daniil Kvyat, Toro Rosso

19 Felipe Massa, Williams

77 Valtteri Bottas, Williams

17 Jules Bianchi, Marussia

TBA Max Chilton, Marussia

TBA, Caterham

TBA, Caterham

*For the duration of his F1 career, Vettel chose number 5