What a way to end a championship, with the driver’s title decided on the final lap of the final race. If that wasn’t enough, the Abu Dhabi season finale threw up a plethora of new racing numbers and top F1 trivia. Here’s our round-up from Yas Marina…

    • Max Verstappen is the first Dutch world champion.

    • The Red Bull driver is also the first non-Mercedes world champion of the hybrid era.

    RACE REPORT: Brilliant Verstappen claims maiden title after victory in Abu Dhabi season finale following late Safety Car drama

    • Only one other race in the last 10 years was won with a last-lap pass. That was Hamilton passing then-team mate Nico Rosberg at the 2016 Austrian Grand Prix.

    • In their final race with Red Bull, Verstappen has given engine suppliers Honda their first drivers’ championship since Ayrton Senna in 1991.

    • Verstappen ended up taking a hat-trick of race win, pole position and fastest lap for only the third time in his entire career.

    Mercedes maintained their 100 percent record of constructors' crowns in the hybrid era

    • The drivers’ and constructors' championships are split between two different teams for the first time since 2008, when Lewis Hamilton took the former with McLaren and Ferrari took the latter.

    • Mercedes have won the constructors’ championship for the eighth consecutive season.

    • Verstappen has broken the record for the most podium finishes in a single season with his 18th of the year, all of which were first or second places.

    INTERVIEW: ‘Miracles happen’ – Emotional Verstappen reacts to his winning his first drivers’ championship

    • Hamilton led 51 out of 58 laps in this race, but did not win.

    • After finishing third today, Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz has scored in the last 15 consecutive races and claimed a fourth podium finish of 2021.

    • That moved Sainz into fifth in the drivers’ championship – his highest ever finish.

    • Ferrari have gone winless in consecutive seasons for first time since 1992-1993.

    Yuki Tsunoda enjoyed his best F1 race result to date with P4 for AlphaTauri

    • Yuki Tsunoda scored a career-best finish in fourth for AlphaTauri, scoring more points in this race (12) than in his last 13 Grands Prix combined.

    • With team mate Pierre Gasly also in the top five, AlphaTauri had their highest scoring race of the year with 22 points.

    • Valtteri Bottas’ final Mercedes race ended with sixth place.

    • Alonso’s eighth place was his best Yas Marina finish since 2013.

    • Williams suffered their second double-DNF of the year after Imola.

    • Alfa Romeo had their first double-DNF since the 2018 British Grand Prix (as Sauber).

    • It meant Antonio Giovinazzi – like team mate Kimi Raikkonen in his final race with the team – lost his record of having finished every race this season.

    WATCH: The F1 community bids farewell to Kimi Raikkonen ahead of 349th and final start