The F1 Commission has voted in favour of changes to the Sporting Regulations regarding how points are awarded should a Grand Prix not complete its intended race distance.

    Talks on the subject have been taking place since the 2021 Belgian Grand Prix at Spa-Francorchamps was shortened due to bad weather.

    READ MORE: Formula 1 to hold three Sprint events in 2022 – with more points on offer

    Red Bull’s Max Verstappen was declared the winner of the race, which ran to two laps behind the Safety Car as heavy rain made green-flag racing impossible. Verstappen and the rest of the top 10 were awarded half points.

    On Monday, after a meeting in London, the F1 Commission approved proposed updates to the Sporting Regulations regarding how points will be distributed when the race distance is not completed.

    JEDDAH, SAUDI ARABIA - DECEMBER 05: Max Verstappen of the Netherlands driving the (33) Red Bull
    The F1 Commission gathered on 14 February, in London, for its first meeting of 2022 – attended by newly-elected FIA President Mohammed Ben Sulayem

    No points will be awarded unless a minimum of two laps have been completed by the leader without a Safety Car or Virtual Safety Car intervention.

    Should the leader have completed more than two laps but less than 25% of the scheduled race distance, the top-five finishers will be awarded points as follows:

    1st – 6 points
    2nd – 4 points
    3rd – 3 points
    4th – 2 points
    5th – 1 point

    If the leader has completed 25% but less than 50% of the scheduled race distance, points will be awarded to the top-nine as follows:

    1st – 13 points
    2nd – 10 points
    3rd – 8 points
    4th – 6 points
    5th – 5 points
    6th – 4 points
    7th – 3 points
    8th – 2 points
    9th – 1 point

    Should the leader complete 50% but less than 75% of the scheduled race distance, points will be awarded to the top-10 as follows:

    1st – 19 points
    2nd – 14 points
    3rd – 12 points
    4th – 9 points
    5th – 8 points
    6th – 6 points
    7th – 5 points
    8th – 3 points
    9th – 2 points
    10th – 1 point

    Any percentage of race distance completed above that threshold will see full points awarded to the top 10.

    As is always the case, all regulatory changes are subject to approval by the World Motor Sport Council.