Latest News / Feature

The Big Quiz - test your knowledge of the Chinese Grand Prix

12 Apr 2016

The spectacular Shanghai International Circuit has hosted a Grand Prix every year since 2004 - but how well do you remember the 12 races that have been held there to date? It's time to dust off your thinking cap and put your knowledge to the test...

Answers at the bottom of the page

Question 1:

Who is this getting airborne in China in 2012?

Question 2:

Which team scored their maiden Grand Prix win with a one-two finish in China in 2009?

Question 3:

Which driver is this having a big shunt in the 2005 Chinese Grand Prix?

Question 4:

Nico Rosberg took his first ever F1 victory in China in 2012 and in doing so became the first German driver to do what? 

Question 5:

Look at the picture below. Which two drivers are doing battle in wet conditions in Shanghai in 2009?

Question 6:

China staged its first race in 2004 – but which driver claimed pole position and victory?

Question 7:

Which of these teams has led the most laps in China – Mercedes, Ferrari or McLaren?

Question 8:

Who scored Ferrari’s 200th F1 win with victory in the 2007 Chinese Grand Prix?

Question 9:

In the video below, which driver does Ferrari’s Michael Schumacher collide with at the hairpin in 2004?

Question 10:

Who is the only driver to have recorded a hat-trick (win, pole position, fastest lap) on Chinese soil? 

Question 11:

‘Hello Sacrificial Nag’ is an anagram of which former Chinese Grand Prix podium finisher?

Question 12:

Why was the 2012 Chinese Grand Prix particularly notable for Kamui Kobayashi?

Question 13:

Who is this being doused in champagne by Nico Rosberg on the podium in 2012?

Question 14:

“He’s left me open then cut me! He’s got to let me by!” Who was Daniel Ricciardo complaining about over team radio during last year's race in Shanghai?

Question 15:

Which driver earned a drive-through penalty in the 2010 race for jumping the start - the first time in his career he had committed such an offence?


1. Red Bull’s Mark Webber; 2. Red Bull; 3. Jordan’s Narain Karthikeyan; 4. Win for a German team in F1; 5. Renault’s Nelson Piquet Jr and Force India’s Adrian Sutil; 6. Ferrari’s Rubens Barrichello; 7. Mercedes (with 191 laps led); 8. Kimi Raikkonen; 9. Jaguar's Christian Klien; 10. Lewis Hamilton, who achieved the feat in 2008 and again in 2015; 11. Giancarlo Fisichella; 12. He recorded the fastest lap for the only time in his F1 career; 13. Former Mercedes-Benz motorsport chief Norbert Haug; 14. His Red Bull team mate, Daniil Kvyat; 15. Fernando Alonso.


How did you get on?

0-5: Back of the grid

6-10: Solid midfield runner

11-15: Top of the podium