Latest News / Feature

In numbers - the Hungarian Grand Prix

19 Jul 2016

Did you know that Kimi Raikkonen has made more podium appearances in Budapest than any current rival? Or that five drivers have scored back-to-back wins in Hungary. Ahead of this year’s race, we present some fascinating facts and figures...


Years since the driver who won the Hungarian Grand Prix went on to win that season’s championship: Michael Schumacher in 2004.


The smallest winning margin - in seconds - in Hungarian Grand Prix history, recorded by Williams’ Thierry Boutsen over McLaren’s Ayrton Senna in 1990. 


The lowest grid position from which the Hungarian Grand Prix has been won - by Jenson Button for Honda in 2006. It was the future world champion’s first F1 triumph.


Percentage of the Hungaroring lap distance spent at full throttle in an F1 car.


The number of penalties picked up by Lotus’s Pastor Maldonado in last year’s 70-lap race - the first for colliding with Force India’s Sergio Perez, the second for speeding in the pit lane, and the third for overtaking under the safety car.


The number of Hungarian Grands Prix - of which there have been 30 - to have been won from pole position.


The number of Hungarian Grand Prix wins Lewis Hamilton will have achieved if he triumphs this weekend. It would make him the most successful driver in the race’s history.


The highest-ever average speed, in km/h, recorded by a race winner in the Hungarian Grand Prix – by Michael Schumacher for Ferrari in 2004.


The fastest speed, in km/h, recorded through the speed trap during last year’s Hungarian Grand Prix meeting – by Williams’ Felipe Massa in qualifying.


The number of podium appearances made by Kimi Raikkonen in Hungary - the most of any current driver, two higher than Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton, and three above Sebastian Vettel.


The number of Hungarians to have competed in their home Grand Prix - Zsolt Baumgartner, whose best finish in Budapest was 15th for Minardi in 2004.


Wins achieved by the most successful team in Hungarian Grand Prix history - McLaren. Williams are next up on seven, followed by Ferrari on six. Red Bull have won twice and Mercedes once.


The number of drivers to have scored back-to-back wins in Hungary: Nelson Piquet (1986-87), Ayrton Senna (1991-92), Jacques Villeneuve (1996-97), Mika Hakkinen (1999-2000) and Lewis Hamilton (2012-13). No man has won three in a row.


If Lewis Hamilton leads that many laps this weekend he will break Michael Schumacher’s record of 296 laps spent at the front of the Hungaroring field.


Romain Grosjean’s grid position for the 2012 Hungarian Grand Prix - the only front-row start of his Formula One career to date.