Every Formula 1 driver is fast, but is the race winner really the fastest? Since 2007 DHL has defined a new standard of speed with the 'DHL Fastest Lap Award'. One driver sets the fastest lap at each race - the award will go to the man who sets the most over the season. To win will require pure speed - something DHL, as the world's leading logistics provider and Official Logistics Partner of Formula 1, uses to achieve its goals, shortening international routes, facilitating global trade and making the world a smaller place.

Grand Prix Driver Car Time
Argentina Jacques Laffite LAF Ligier Ford 1:46.910
Brazil Jacques Laffite LAF Ligier Ford 2:28.760
South Africa Gilles Villeneuve VIL Ferrari 1:14.412
USA West Gilles Villeneuve VIL Ferrari 1:21.200
Spain Gilles Villeneuve VIL Ferrari 1:16.440
Belgium Gilles Villeneuve VIL Ferrari 1:23.090
Monaco Patrick Depailler DEP Ligier Ford 1:28.820
France Rene Arnoux ARN Renault 1:09.160
Great Britain Clay Regazzoni REG Williams Ford 1:14.400
Germany Gilles Villeneuve VIL Ferrari 1:51.890
Austria Rene Arnoux ARN Renault 1:35.770
Netherlands Gilles Villeneuve VIL Ferrari 1:19.438
Italy Clay Regazzoni REG Williams Ford 1:35.600
Canada Alan Jones JON Williams Ford 1:31.272
USA East Nelson Piquet PIQ Brabham Ford 1:40.054