Latest News / Feature

The Big Quiz - test your Malaysian Grand Prix knowledge

27 Sep 2016

The weather is famously changeable in Malaysia, but will our questions rain on your parade? It’s time to put your Sepang recall on the line…

Answers at the bottom of the page

Question 1:

Who finished third behind Jenson Button and Nick Heidfeld in the rain-shortened 2009 Malaysian Grand Prix?

Question 2:

Malaysia hosted its first Grand Prix in 1999, but in what month was it held – March, April or October?

Question 3:

In the video below, who is Renault’s Fernando Alonso seen passing on the pit straight in the early stages of the 2004 race?

Question 4:

"As in real life, there are a few cucumbers on the road" – to which backmarker was Sebastian Vettel referring, after a clash during the 2012 race?

Question 5:

In the picture below, Juan Pablo Montoya is seen running wide at the first corner of the 2002 race – but with whom had he just tangled?

Question 6:

At the 2008 Malaysian Grand Prix, which driver gave Sauber their first ever fastest lap?

Question 7:

Ferrari were famously disqualified from first and second at the 1999 race for a technical irregularity before being re-instated, but what part of their car had come under scrutiny?

Question 8:

Which of these four drivers has never won in Malaysia – Eddie Irvine, Ralf Schumacher, Giancarlo Fisichella or Felipe Massa?

Question 9:

In the video below, who is seen crashing into the barriers at the pit lane entry during FP2 in 2011?

Question 10:

At the 2003 Malaysian Grand Prix, Fernando Alonso became the youngest pole position winner in F1 history. But how many years old was he at the time?

Question 11:

What was special about Jenson Button’s podium at the 2004 Malaysian Grand Prix?

Question 12:

What did Renault achieve at the 2006 Malaysian Grand Prix that they hadn’t done since the 1982 French Grand Prix and haven’t done since?

Question 13:

Two Malaysian drivers have taken part in official F1 sessions. Alex Yoong is one – who is the other (pictured below)?

Question 14:

Who is the only driver to have scored a Grand Slam (pole, victory, fastest lap, lead every lap) in Malaysia, and when did he do it?

Question 15:

Which team has won more races in Malaysia, Red Bull or McLaren?


1. Toyota’s Timo Glock; 2. October; 3. Jaguar’s Mark Webber; 4. HRT’s Narain Karthikeyan; 5. Ferrari’s Michael Schumacher; 6. Nick Heidfeld; 7. The bargeboards; 8. Felipe Massa; 9. Williams’ Pastor Maldonado; 10. 21; 11. It was his first in F1; 12. They finished one-two, with Giancarlo Fisichella leading home Fernando Alonso; 13. Fairuz Fauzy, who appeared in five FP1 sessions for Lotus in 2010; 14. Lewis Hamilton, 2014; 15. Red Bull, 3 to 2.

How did you get on?

0-5: Back of the grid

6-10: Solid midfield runner

11-15: Top of the podium