Force India

Full Team Name Racing Point Force India F1 Team
Base Silverstone, United Kingdom
Team Chief Otmar Szafnauer
Technical Chief Andrew Green
Chassis VJM11
Power Unit Mercedes
First Team Entry 2018
World Championships N/A
Highest Race Finish 5 (x1)
Pole Positions N/A
Fastest Laps N/A

In profile

Having won races under former guise Jordan, the Silverstone-based team became Force India in 2007 and steadily established themselves as a midfield force. A move to new owners – and hence a new championship entry – may have seen their points reset to zero in mid-2018, but a bright future is predicted for a team already well renowned for their ability to punch above their weight...


Leave Williams in their wake as they firmly establish themselves as ‘best of the rest’ behind the top three teams. Sergio Perez partnered by Mercedes protege Esteban Ocon in a new driver line-up that proves a little too close for comfort, forcing the imposition of team orders after a number of spectacular on-track clashes.


The team's championship rise continues as they move above arch-rivals Williams to achieve a best-ever fourth place in the constructor standings. Perez and Hulkenberg again prove a fast and reliable driver combination, with the former twice finishing on the podium, in Monaco and Azerbaijan.


Late introduction of VJM08 proves no problem as Perez and Hulkenberg rack up enough points to carry the team to fifth in the constructors’ standings - their best finish since Vijay Mallya’s 2008 takeover. Key to their success is the mid-season introduction of a B-spec car which enables the squad to challenge (and occasionally beat) the likes of Ferrari and Williams and Perez to score an unlikely podium in Russia. 

Read Force India's full year-by-year profile